top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark O'Keefe

New England Part 2

Updated: Feb 20, 2022

Although I did not see most of my target birds while birding on my own, the Tropical Birding tour has more than made up for it. We are seeing our major targets every day, and hope to add a few more in the remaining day and a half.


I have now seen 256 species of birds this year which was finally enough to get me in the top 100 for the year in the USA. I don't feel I am competing with anyone, but it makes me feel like I am in the right track.


As usual, my best pictures are not always the "best" birds. Here are some of my favorite shots:



The northern hemisphere's closest relatives of the penguin family are the Alcids. This Thick-billed Murre is a member of the alcid family and was our primary target today.


Another shot of one the the two thick-billed Murres we saw.


Common Eiders lived up to their name. We saw quite a few including this male.


Female Common Eiders look very different from their mates.


I don't see many American Black Ducks in Michigan, but they are plentiful here in New England.


We saw all three scoter species including this White-winged Scoter.


Gadwall



We saw hundreds of Great-black Backed Gulls -


- but we only saw one Lesser Black-backed Gull


Fish Crow - seen in Connecticut


Iceland Gul - Note the rounded head and absence of black in the wings.


White-throated Sparrow



And finally, in Connecticut they are able to tell the weather simply by looking at this rock!



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page