top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark O'Keefe

Texas revisited

Updated: May 8, 2022


Painted Bunting



After a disappointing Florida trip, I was home for a day before heading to Texas. Twelve days of birding and 90 new birds for the year!


The trip started with a flight to San Antonio and a drive northwest to hill country. Hill country is the only place to see Golden-cheeked Warblers in the USA, and also one of the few reliable places for Black-capped Vireo. I saw both at Lost Maples State Park. I also got a good look at the rare Tropical Parula.


This Blue Grosbeak was a little camera-shy.



This Scott's Oriole was a nice find. It was the 1,000 bird on my all-time list for the world.


This Golden-cheeked Warbler really does have wings - but they were too fast for my camera's settings.



Black-chinned Hummingbird



My next stop was in Kingsville at the King Ranch. The ranch has four separate divisions that are close together, but not contiguous. Combined, they are larger than Rhode Island. Our number one target was the Ferruginous Pygmy Owl. We found this delightful little owl perched near its nest hole with a freshly killed bird in its talons.




Brown-crested Flycatcher


Next was a return to High Island. I have fond memories of my previous two visits with my grandson Peter. it was strange to be there without him. It was also strange to be there without warblers, most of which had left a few days before I got there. I still saw some nice birds during my three days in the area.


Ruddy Turnstones



Bobolink


Bay-breasted Warbler


Black-bellied Plover


Carolina Wren


Laughing Gull


Least Terns


Sanderling



Semipalmated Plover


Yellow-billed Cuckoo

Common Nighthawk


Belted Kingfisher



Crested Caracara



Red-winged Blackbird


Scarlet Tanager


Assorted terns and a Black Skimmer

Roseate Spoonbill


Summer Tanager in mulberry tree


Tricolored Heron

Willet

Fulvous Whistling-duck


Stilt Sandpiper


I twas time to head south to the lower Rio Grande Valley where I started my big year in earnest in early January.


This Groove-billed Ani was in the National Butterfly Center.



The Audubon's Oriole attracted many visitors from near and far. Like the Scott's Oriole, it is one of the few orioles that are yellow rather than orange.


May 2 was an excellent day. I didn't get many new birds, but the ones I got were all great.


I started the day with Lesser Nighthawks that roost on the roof of the Alamo Inn where I was staying. I was up early to see these nocturnal birds at the end of their day. My next new bird was Chihuahuan Raven at the Brownsville Landfill. Elsewhere, a couple hours of patient waiting allowed me to get a brief, distant look at an Aplomado Falcon. And finally, after two unsuccessful trips, I was able to see an Elf Owl as it emerged from its home in a cavity in a utility pole.




Elf Owl picture taken from the back of someone else's camera


I have now seen more species of birds in four trips to Texas than i have seen in my entire life in my home state of Michigan.




No new birds on May3, but i did see an epic battle between a lizard and a beetle.


Long-billed Thrasher


No good photos from May 4, but guide Tiffany Kersten helped me find some good birds including Buff-breasted Sandpiper, Upland Sandpiper, Semipalmated Sandpiper, Mourning Warbler, and about 120 Wilson's Phalaropes.


I drove to Laredo and booked another guide for a half day on May 5. Raul Delgado helped me find all three of my primary targets.



Red-billed pigeon




Mexican Ducks


We had a great look at a Gray Hawk, but it flew away before I could get a picture.


Today I birded in the San Jacinto area on my own. The Painted bunting pictured at the top of this post was a highlight, though not a new bird for my list.



After having trouble finding an Egyptian Goose in Florida, I had no problem finding five in Texas. This introduced bird is only considered wild and countable in a few places, including where I saw this one.




Northern Parula


Lesser Goldfinch


White-eyed Vireo


The painted bunting photo and the three pictures above were all taken at the bird blind at Guadalupe River State Park north of San Antonio. I highly recommend it.


I will head to Florida tomorrow with my total at 481, good enough for eighth place.




60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page